Listen up, university, we need to have some standards here D:

Posted: November 4, 2009 in fail for posterity, ignorant stereotyping, linguistics, racism, when sendaianonymous wanted to cry again, wtf?
Tags: , ,

It’s such a great thing that I’m not teaching the Language Documentation class, because I wouldn’t laugh at those people, I’d make them cry.

This is like, nightmare fodder. Or alternatively, an awesome proof for sneering programmers of how dumb the  humanities people really are.

Brilliant Princess 1

‘So first, we would need to ascertain whether the people who live  in the, you know, jungle just talk normally, like we do, you know, small talk and stuff, or whether they only speak when they work or want something from each other.’

Yes, those silly savages! Of course they wouldn’t engage in any sort of social behaviour! They live in a jungle, after all. Small talk? Pah! Pointless babble? Nuh-huh. It’s a 2o century Western invention, didn’t you know?

(Possibly, this was the first time ever in my life when I really wanted to just stand up and smack somebody on their stupid face)

Brilliant Princess 2

‘So, what we should look into first, well, I think, I think we should start with standard language, and progress from there.’

OH MY DARWIN YES OF COURSE PEOPLE WHOSE LANGUAGE HAS NEVER BEEN WRITTEN DOWN AND WHO STILL LIVE IN SEASONAL SETTLEMENTS IN THE BLOODY JUNGLE TOTALLY HAVE STANDARDISED LANGUAGE OF COURSE.

How can you be a third year linguistics student and say stuff like that? And if you can, can you forget about breathing, too?  And if so, why don’t you just do that?

Brilliant Princess 3

‘I’m sorry, I just have a question. I mean, it just got me thinking. Do you do documentation of the normal languages… I mean, standard languages, too? Like German or Dutch? I mean, you know, just the normal stuff?’

MY EYES THEY BURN BUT ONLY BECAUSE MY EARS HAVE FALLEN OFF ALREADY WHYYYYYYYYYYYYY.

Note: all brilliant quotations was painstakingly transcribed during my language documentation seminar. By me.

Because that sort of brilliance deserves to be preserved for posterity.

Note 2: “princess” has nothing to do with the gender of the “princesses”. This is what I call people I really dislike when I want to swear but won’t.

 

 

Comments
  1. Ausir says:

    ARGH LINGUIST NERD RAGE!!!111

    • Um.
      BUT THEY WERE SO STUPID ARGHHHHHHHHHHH.

      Also, the amazement at the “zomg, silly savages are human after all, no wai” explanation the prof gave was well beyond linguistic ignorance, imo.

  2. Andrew W says:

    so I thought you were being a bit harsh at first, thought “ok, they sound a bit dumb, but people often are dumb when they’re first exposed to linguistics, I know I was — there’s a lot of misconceptions about language and culture out there”.

    Then you said they were third year linguistics students. Jaw now attached to floor. How can that even happen?

    • Well, this is a seminar, and you don’t just let random newbiews into a seminar (at least in Germany).
      Also, these are all theoretical linguistics guys, not some hapless applied linguistics unfortunates who needed a couple of extra credits. I wanted to cry D:

  3. These people are like something out of a “real life version of the internet” experience

Leave a Reply

