Friday Atheist-Friendly Fiction (4)

Posted: November 6, 2009 in akkadian, atheism, atheist friendly fiction, books, dead languages
Tags: , , , , ,

Today’s rec is The Epic of Gilgamesh!

(There really should be a Wiki version in Akkadian. It’d edit that)

Anyway, because for me, the  joys I associate with reading Gilgamesh consisted mostly of:

1) trudging to and fro in the library with any and all of the twenty volumes of the Chicago Assyrian Dictionary in my hands, on my back, in my pockets(1), and carefully balanced on my head,  and with Borger’s Assyrisch-Babylonische Zeichenliste dangling precariously in the steely yet loving embrace of my upper and lower jaw(2),

(Um. Please disregard the disturbing mental image)

2)finding stuff to fit into the lacunae in the original tablet,

3)crowing triumphantly for no reason at all,

4)consuming copious amounts of coffee,

it would be, I think, a good idea to just let a sane person speak his mind: here, PZ Myers on the awesomeness that is the Epic of Gilgamesh.

This is one of my favourite  Pharyngula post ever, by the way.

(1) Haha, NO.

(2) thank Darwin for pdf files! EVOLUTION! SYMBIOSIS!

Comments
  1. Chuck says:

    For the CAD, stop trudging, start harvesting. It’s all online: http://oi.uchicago.edu/research/pubs/catalog/cad/

    • Thanks! I know about the dictionaries :) It’s just, there was this really really old profesor emeritus who had this seminar with us, and she wouldn’t have all the internet nonsense in her classroom, no sir!

  2. Ausir says:

    Starting a wiki in Akkadian wouldn’t be that hard, actually. :)

  3. Ausir says:

    One, but one crazy enough to get the thing going. :) Even if they don’t allow its creation at Wikipedia itself for now, you could always start it at Wikia and maybe later move it to Wikipedia when it’s big enough. And I could help with any technical stuff.

  4. Ausir says:

    Heh heh heh. Czy administrator Wiki wie, ze jest nawet czcionka do pisma klinowego? Heh heh heh.

    I installed one just now!

  5. Ausir says:

    How does one say “citation needed” in Akkadian?

  6. Ausir says:

    It would also be useful to be able to edit comments so I don’t need to post 4 in a row.

  7. Ausir :

    Isn’t “citation” derived from Latin?

    Yeah, it is. Damn, Latin wiki sucked me in, again.

    I think very few people realise, but actually the “disputatio” part of every Latin Wiki article you come across is so likely to be a gigantic wank it’s almost a universal truth.
    With name-calling.
    In Latin.

Leave a Reply

