The urge to devote the rest of my life to researching 19th century alphabet books has almost passed

Posted: September 5, 2010 in wtf?
Tags: , , , ,

I have to say, I re-read it, like, 10 000 times to make sure I wasn’t hallucinating. I wasn’t. It’s 1888, and children in Japan are learning to read:

あの木の上に、大きなときがゐます。あれは、からすであります。・・・中略・・・からすは、いたずらなとりであります。石をなげてやりませうか。

(『尋常小学読本』、1888年、after 『役割語研究の地平』、金水敏)

(Translation: There is a bird on that tree. This bird is a crow (…). Crows are mischievous birds. Let’s throw a stone at the crow!)

It comes as no surprise two world wars happened shortly afterwards.

(Also, the urge to look for European alphabet books has not yet passed. If I’m lucky, I might yet have something hilarious tomorrow)

Comments
  1. Brian says:

    Alright you ignorant atheists… if there is no god, then HOW DOES THE SUN KEEP ORBITING THE EARTH? BAM!

    Of course atheism is a religion, because it requires just as much FAITH to BELIEVE in it! They are FUNDAMENTALISTS!

    If we came from Monkeys, then why are there still monkeys? My grandpa doesn’t look like a monkey!

    Evolution isn’t a fact, it’s only a theory! Why should I believe that theory instead of the one I was taught at church?!

    And on that note…

    Dunt dun duuh DAAAAHHHH!

    !!!!!!!!!MY ATHEIST STORE!!!!!!!!!

    Aristotle’s Muse

    This is my store. If you’re as irritated by this kind of mindless banter as I am, speak your mind. Maybe wearing an atheist T-shirt won’t change the world, but enough of them just might help.

Leave a Reply

